My Pivot to Photography

As a serious amateur photographer, here are my premier images. Double-click to enlarge an image.

Local county fair, August 2018. The joy of flight.

This image won third prize in a competition on the theme, “Street Photography”, at the NIH Camera Club. The fish-eye lens I used sees half the world in a single glance.

Reclaimed from vandals? Fall, 2018.

This image won first prize in a competition on the theme, “Abandoned and Discarded”, also at the NIH Camera Club. A photographer-critic there said this image was like a dialog between the unknown graffiti perps and me, the photographer. “Strong, but I wouldn’t want to look at it on my wall every day”. It’s on my wall, though.

Hoodoo tribe, near Hanksville, Utah. March 2019.

Out on my first photo field workshop, with Ian Plant. Ian’s teaching focuses on the concept of ‘visual flow’, which animates this image (above).

Convoluted, ancient European beech in Brookline, MA. May 2019.

This image actually unfolds the whole circumference of a single live tree. I needed to split the cylinder to frame up the composite. The ancient beech grove at Longwood Mall was planted around 1850, and these trees are about 170 years old. The bluish tones in the middle are seen on the sunnier south side of the tree. The green tint at the ends is seen on the shadier north side. This panoramic rendering method came into my mind spontaneously last year.

Mammatous beech tree in the same grove. May, 2019.

In this partial panorama, I sense the embodied energy of the living tree, in which feminine forms may be imagined. These two tree images (above) are the ‘seeds’ of my ongoing project which will become a photo essay.

Joshua and William Gilbert in Humboldt Park, Chicago. Summer, 2018.

Nature and Landscape themed images come more naturally to me than portraits, but here’s one.

All photos copyright William James.

Leave a comment